The Good Byline

By Jill Orr

GoodByline_cover_smallApril 2017
Paperback | $16
ISBN 978-1-938849-91-6

ebook | $7.99
ISBN 978-1-938849-92-3

Preorder The Good Byline!
Indiebound
Barnes & Noble
Amazon
Vroman’s Bookstore

Events

Wednesday, April 12, 7 p.m.
Left Bank Books
399 N Euclid Ave, St. Louis, MO
Talk & book signing

Friday, April 21
Unbound Book Festival
Stephens College, 1200 W. Broadway, Columbia, MO
Jill will be speaking at this large, vibrant book festival

Wednesday, April 26, 6:30 p.m.
The Book Stall at Chestnut Court
811 Elm St., Winnetka, IL
Talk & book signing

Wednesday, May 17, time TBD
Daniel Boone Regional Library
100 W Broadway, Columbia, MO
Talk & book signing

A Debut Mystery Rich with Charm, Humor, Romance, and Danger

The Good Byline follows Riley Ellison, a smart, quirky young heroine with Southern charm to boot. Riley feels adrift in her small hometown of Tuttle Corner, Virginia, newly single and bemoaning the decline of print journalism, which has dashed her long-held dream of succeeding her grandfather as an obituary writer at the local newspaper. When her childhood best friend commits suicide with no warning, the grieving family asks Riley to write her obituary. As she investigates why such an ambitious young woman might want to end her life, Riley begins to consider that her friend Jordan may have actually been murdered. In the meantime, her love life becomes complicated when her ex Ryan returns to town just as things are heating up with a hot newcomer—who may have had something to do with Jordan’s death.

Jill Orr writes features and a popular parenting column for COMO Living Magazine (formerly Columbia Home) and posts humor essays on her blog, An Exercise in Narcissism. A resident of Columbia, Missouri, she serves on the board of the Unbound Book Festival and is a member of Sisters in Crime. The Good Byline is her first novel.

JillOrr_StephanieAtkinson small

Early Raves

“Orr’s debut mystery is a fun romp populated with peculiar characters. Recommend to new adult fans or admirers of Janet Evanovich’s “Stephanie Plum” capers.”
Library Journal 

“Jill Orr’s delightful, laugh-out-loud debut is the perfect mix of mystery, humor, and romance, anchored by an endearing heroine you can’t help but root for. A fun, fast-paced read with a satisfying mystery at its heart. Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich.”
— Laura McHugh, award-winning author of Arrowood and The Weight of Blood

“Riley ‘Bless-Her-Heart’ Ellison is a breath of fresh air—a funny, empathic, Millennial heroine. She kept me turning the pages well into the night.”
— Susan M. Boyer, USA TODAY–bestselling author of the Liz Talbot mystery series

“Who knew obituaries could be this much fun?”
— Gretchen Archer, USA TODAY–bestselling author of the Davis Way Crime Caper series

“An extremely fun read! Regina H., Personal Romance Concierge, may be my favorite new literary character of the decade.”
— Anne Flett-Giordano, author of Marry, Kiss, Kill and Emmy-winning writer of the TV shows Mom, Frasier, and Desperate Housewives

“What a fun, quirky, mystery! This was exactly what I needed to comfort me during these uncertain times. Riley is a library assistant who has a fascination with obituaries. When Riley’s best friend, Jordan, dies her parents ask her to write the obituary. The one snag is that Riley thinks there’s something fishy surrounding the circumstances of Jordan’s death. In addition to playing detective, Riley has been dumped by her high school sweetheart and decides to give online dating a try. Hilarity ensues! I can’t wait to give this to all my girlfriends for their beach vacations.”
— Whitney Berger, The King’s English Bookshop, Salt Lake City

“Jill Orr will make you laugh, make you think, and steam up your reading glasses with this funny, smart, and romantic mystery debut. The Good Byline is an engaging story that will keep readers wondering whodunit and how’d-they-do-it until the very end.”
— Diane Kelly, award-winning author of the Death & Taxes and Paw Enforcement mysteries

“In this irresistible page-turner, Jill Orr delivers a funny, smartly written mystery featuring a charming heroine and appealing setting. I can’t wait to join Millennial Riley Ellison on future adventures—and misadventures!”
— Ellen Byron, author of Body on the Bayou and Plantation Shudders

“Jill Orr’s Tuttle Corner is absolutely charming, and you’ll want to hang out more in this Virginian small town with Riley and her cast of friends. The methodical local reporter, Will Holman, is a standout, and here’s hoping he will appear in more of Riley’s mystery adventures. Fans of Hannah Dennison’s Vicky Hill series will devour this debut!”
— Naomi Hirahara, Edgar Award–winning author of the Mas Arai and Ellie Rush mystery series

Related Entries