An Amos Parisman Mystery
By Andy Weinberger

December 2019

Paperback | $16
ISBN 978-1-945551-64-2
Ebook also available
ISBN 978-1-945551-65-9

Pre-order now!
Pre-order from Vroman’s
Pre-order from The Last Bookstore
Pre-order from Diesel Bookstore
Pre-order from Skylight Books
Pre-order from Barnes and Noble (coming soon)
Pre-order from IndieBound
Pre-order from Powell’s Books (coming soon)
Pre-order from Amazon

Events

Keep an eye out for more events coming soon!

Retired private eye Amos Parisman is just trying to keep things kosher.

When a controversial rabbi drops dead over his matzoh ball soup at Canter’s Deli in Los Angeles, retired private eye Amos Parisman is hired by the temple’s board to make sure everything is kosher. As he looks into what seems to be a simple, tragic accident, Amos uncovers a world of treachery and hurt that shakes a large L.A. Jewish community to its core.

Advance Praise for An Old Man’s Game

Andy Weinberger has done something extraordinary with his first novel: he’s written a truly great detective novel that is fresh and original, but already feels like it’s a classic. In the tradition of Walter Mosley, Raymond Chandler, and Sue Grafton, semi-retired private eye Amos Parisman roams LA’s seedy and not-so-seedy neighborhoods in pursuit of justice. I don’t want another Amos Parisman novel—I want a dozen more!”
Amy Stewart, bestselling author of the Kopp Sisters series, including Girl Waits with Gun.

“I loved An Old Man’s Game. Amos Parisman must return!”
Cara Black, author of Murder on the Quai and the other Aimée Leduc mysteries

“Andy Weinberger’s An Old Man’s Game is a reader’s delight.  Bringing an old Jewish detective in LA, who doesn’t believe in God, out of retirement to investigate the potential murder of a charismatic rabbi is just the start of this funny, charming, moving, and engaging debut mystery. Add him to Michael Connelly, Walter Mosley, and Joe Ide, writers who embrace the underrepresented people of LA, articulate the distortions of power, and cast a light on the darknesses we humans carry within us. Don’t miss this new mystery from a skillful new writer.”
John Evans, owner, Diesel Bookstore

About the Author

Andy Weinberger is a longtime bookseller who opened Readers’ Books in Sonoma, California, with his wife, Lilla Weinberger, in 1991. Born in New York, he grew up in the Los Angeles area and studied poetry and Chinese history at the University of New Mexico. He lives in Sonoma, where Readers’ Books continues to thrive. This is his first novel.