A Riley Ellison Mystery
By Jill Orr

June 2020

Paperback | $16
ISBN 978-1-945551-80-2
Hardcover | $25.95
ISBN 978-1-945551-81-9
Ebook also available
ISBN 978-1-945551-82-6

Coming Soon!
Pre-order from Vroman’s
Pre-order from IndieBound
Pre-order from Skylight Books
Pre-order from Amazon
Pre-order from Barnes & Noble

ALSO BY JILL ORR

The Bad Break
A Riley Ellison Mystery
April 2017
Paperback ISBN 978-1-938849-91-6
ebook ISBN 978-1-938849-92-3
The Good Byline
A Riley Ellison Mystery
April 2018
Paperback ISBN 978-1-938849-91-6
ebook ISBN 978-1-938849-92-3
The Ugly Truth
A Riley Ellison Mystery
June 2019
Paperback ISBN 978-1-945551-44-4
ebook ISBN 978-1-945551-45-1

Events

Check out the full event calendar on Jill’s site HERE

Riley investigates her family’s past and uncovers buried secrets that demand a seemingly impossible choice.

Reeling after tragedy hits close to home, Riley Ellison becomes obsessed with uncovering the deadly secret that led to her grandfather’s murder years before and that just took another life in Tuttle Corner. Her desperate search for answers leads her down a dark path, both personally and professionally, as she struggles with how far she’s willing to go to get answers. Just as Riley finally discovers the disturbing truth, she will be forced to choose between exacting justice and protecting the people she loves most in the world. With pressure coming in at her from all sides, Riley will have to look deep within herself and decide if she can let go of the past in order to hold on to the future.

Praise for The Ugly Truth

“Millennials will love following Riley Ellison, junior reporter, on her laugh-out-loud adventures in the quaint town of Tuttle Corner, Virginia…. Riley is a heroine for the twenty-first century, struggling, like others of her generation, with such contemporary concerns as online dating and obnoxious coworkers. Her romantic misadventures provide most of the comedy here, but there’s plenty of suspense, too; an additional source of appeal is Tuttle Corner itself, a thoroughly quirky but realistically drawn small town full of eccentric and amusing characters… Orr’s series is perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum and Kyra Davis’ Sophie Katz, witty protagonists who always mix fun with murder. The Ugly Truth is a great vacation read for comic mystery fans.”
Booklist (starred review!)

“Delightfully comic… highly amusing… Quirky characters enliven the carefully constructed plot.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Jill Orr hits an almost impossible combo with The Ugly Truth; page-turning suspense, laugh-out-loud humor, and a delightfully complex mystery you just can’t put down. If you like smart criminals, smarter women sleuths, and endearing side characters you care about, Orr delivers with the third book in her charming Riley Ellison series.”
— Libby Kirsch, Emmy Award winning journalist and author of the Stella Reynolds Mystery Series and the Janet Black Mystery Series

“Jill Orr’s comedic capers shine on! The third Riley Ellison mystery The Ugly Truth had me in stitches and made me want visit Tuttle Corner to join Riley on one of her hilarious adventures. Do your funny bone a favor, and pick this book up now.”
— Hannah Mary McKinnon, author of The Neighbors and Her Secret Son

About the Author

Jill Orr is the author ofThe Good Byline, The Bad Break, and The Ugly Truth. A graduate of the University of Missouri Journalism School, Orr lives in Columbia, Missouri, with her husband and two children. The Full Scoop is her fourth novel. Learn more at jillorrauthor.com

Want to hear more from Jill? Check out her interview about the Riley Ellison series here, and another on The Bad Break here. Also, TMJ4 featured Jill and The Ugly Truth on their morning show.

Praise for The Bad Break

“By actually capturing the unique voice of a generation, Orr brings something out of the ordinary and elusive to so many.” — BookTrib (check out BookTrib’s great Q&A with Jill here)

“The small town nature of this mystery, with the requisite fish-bowl local politics, relationships, and grudges, makes it perfect for cozy lovers who want something more modern. Readers will enjoy Riley’s humor and determination even when things turn sad.” — Booklist 

“The laughs keep coming.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Riley is back and just as hilarious as remembered…Riley Ellison will continue to make us laugh for years to come – because she just loves life. And we love her.” —BOLO Books (a rave review!)

“A ray of sunshine cloaked in a mystery. Orr is one to watch—the best humorous mystery writer around, with a voice all her own.”
Laura McHugh, internationally bestselling author of The Weight of Blood and Arrowood

“Here comes Riley Ellison, the journalist-slash-hero we need right now. She solves murders! She writes obits! She lets a really cute guy get away but she’ll survive! I loved this fresh page-turner—it’s fun, funny, and moves like lightning. Jill Orr has created a complex plot and complex contemporary characters that make murder quite delightful. Can’t wait for the next in the series.”
Lian Dolan, Satellite Sister and author of the bestselling novels Helen of Pasadena and Elizabeth the First Wife

“Deft at imbuing her pop-off-the-page characters with both humor and heart, Jill Orr also spins a gem of a twisty mystery that will leave readers breathless as they chase a huge (and dangerous) headline with Tuttle Corner’s sassy, scrappy new star reporter, Riley Ellison. Utterly delightful—don’t miss this one, y’all!”
LynDee Walker, Agatha Award–nominated author of Lethal Lifestyles and Front Page Fatality

Praise for The Good Byline

“Orr’s debut mystery is a fun romp populated with peculiar characters. Recommend to new adult fans or admirers of Janet Evanovich’s “Stephanie Plum” capers.”
Library Journal 

“Full of heart…this career of Riley’s could certainly have her solving crimes for years to come. For now, Jill Orr has put pure joy on the page with The Good Byline.”
BOLO Books

“While Ellison, a recently dumped, obituary loving, pseudo-librarian is an unlikely heroine, the character is brilliantly written.”
 Inside Columbia

“Who knew obituaries could be this much fun?”
Gretchen Archer, USA TODAY–bestselling author of the Davis Way Crime Caper series

“Jill Orr’s delightful, laugh-out-loud debut is the perfect mix of mystery, humor, and romance, anchored by an endearing heroine you can’t help but root for. A fun, fast-paced read with a satisfying mystery at its heart. Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich.”
Laura McHugh, award-winning author of Arrowood and The Weight of Blood

“An extremely fun read! Regina H., Personal Romance Concierge, may be my favorite new literary character of the decade.”
Anne Flett-Giordano, author of Marry, Kiss, Kill and Emmy-winning writer of the TV shows Mom, Frasier, and Desperate Housewives

The Good Byline is a blast of fresh air. It arrives just in time to live out its destiny as a pitch-perfect summer read.”
 Columbia Daily Tribune

“In this irresistible page-turner, Jill Orr delivers a funny, smartly written mystery featuring a charming heroine and appealing setting. I can’t wait to join Millennial Riley Ellison on future adventures—and misadventures!”
Ellen Byron, author of Body on the Bayou and Plantation Shudders